A Big Thank You to Everyone!

You Guys are the Best šŸ˜Š

I sit here writing on the evening of January 18th having returned from the Firebirdsā€™ season kickoff party at the Raleigh Hiltonā€¦and it was a huge success! I wanted to use todayā€™s post to thank everyone who came and supported the Firebirds! It was a really great time.

The traffic was very chaotic due to President Bidenā€™s visit earlier in the day, but we were still able to draw a reasonably sized crowd. Team Market Owner Wade Harris and General Manager Chris Lightner were there; all of our amazing interns were there, and so were some of the players: Daequon Antoine, Dreko Palmer, Ahmad Abdullah, and Justin Vaughn, to name a few. I also had the opportunity to do a book signing for my book (Overcoming Adversity: The 2010 NBA All-Stars), which was the first Iā€™ve ever done, and a cool experience. Next time, Iā€™ll make sure I have Apple Pay as a payment option (alas, lesson learned).

12 autographed books were sold to people attending the season kickoff party, and next time, Iā€™m sure itā€™ll be even more! Thank you if you were one of the people who purchased a copy!

Iā€™m only writing this email after the party as I didnā€™t have any planned content for today, but I wanted to let those who werenā€™t able to attend know what happened, and how awesome it was. Plus, I donā€™t want to miss a day of email writing to you guys this year. šŸ™‚ 

Speaking of you guys, it was so great to put faces to some of the readers who are subscribed to Firebird Focus! I couldnā€™t do this without all of your support, and it means a lot to me that you read my work and support the Firebirds.

Iā€™ll have a more long-form story ready for you on Monday, but in the meantime, thank you so much for your assistance in our quest for ā€œThe Lillieā€ this upcoming TBL season. If you havenā€™t bought tickets yet, make sure you go buy some here as soon as possible!

Until Monday,

-Tex