8 AM Track Workout with the Firebirds

People saying the grind doesn't stop during the offseason? Yeah, the Firebirds really don't.

Yesterday, I had the chance to join Wade Harris (the Firebirds’ team market owner) and some prospective Firebirds players for a workout at a local track in Raleigh.

Apparently, every Sunday morning at 8 AM, Wade and some of the players go to a track to get some conditioning in. The ones there yesterday were new to this (just like I was), and said they had never woken up this early to run.

You know what they say: there’s a first time for everything 🤷

I decided to do the conditioning with the players, because:

a. I wanted to see what they were forced to do

b. I’m a long-distance runner who needs to work on my speed

The workout was light compared to other days, as it was just four sets of 400 meters (which is one lap around a standard track; four of them are equivalent to a mile).

Funny enough, I actually smoked the guys at distance running. But of course, if I tried to even step on the same basketball court as them, I’d get horribly embarrassed.

Still…

The dedication that these players are putting in during the offseason…

To have a chance to make the Firebirds’ final roster

To have a chance to win games for the Firebirds

To have a chance to win “The Lily”

It speaks volumes about their character and the work they’re putting in to become better athletes.

And I love it.

-Tex